Assault & Battery
Norfolk Criminal Defense Attorney, Chad Dorsk | Dorsk Law Office Represents People Charged with Assault & Battery
Virginia Code 18.2-57
Assault and Battery convictions carry a maximum penalty of up to 1 year in jail. Generally, a conviction for this charge does not carry a mandatory minimum jail sentence. Assault is defined as the intent to cause harm or offensively touch another person. Battery is the completion of that intent.
Depending on certain circumstances, Assault and Battery charges can carry even stricter penalties:
If an assault is directed against someone on the basis of race, religion, color, or national origin (a hate crime), a conviction entails a mandatory minimum of 30 days in jail.
If an assault is knowingly directed against an emergency or public safety official while on duty (police officer, corrections officer, firefighter, etc.), the charge is a class 6 felony and entails a mandatory minimum of 6 months in jail.
If an assault is knowingly directed against a school official (principal, teacher, guidance counselor, etc.), a conviction entails a mandatory minimum of 2 days in jail.
An experienced Assault and Battery defense attorney, Mr. Dorsk will implement a defense tailored to fit the specifics of your case. Mr. Dorsk will protect your rights in court and he will evaluate the credibility of the witnesses against you. Under Virginia Code 18.2-57, you cannot be convicted of an Assault and Battery charge if you are found to have been acting in self-defense, or without the intent to cause harm. Depending on your case, Mr. Dorsk may use these principles (or other tactics) to defend your rights in court.
Mr. Dorsk, an experienced Assault and Battery attorney, will defend your rights in court. Call today for a free consultation.